AudioPod AI
  • Pricing

Audiobook Studio

Where AI-narrated audiobooks are accepted in 2026: ACX, Audible, Amazon KDP, Spotify, Google Play, Apple, Kobo and aggregators — what each one actually says

A dated matrix of the routes an AI-narrated audiobook can take: what each one actually says about synthesized narration, what it asks you to disclose, who ends up holding your master files — and, where we have no sourced answer, that we do not have one.

Lesson 5 · advanced · 7 min read

Open Audiobook Studio

Two questions get confused constantly, and only one of them is about audio. Whether a FILE meets a store's technical spec is settled by the export. Whether a STORE allows a book narrated by a machine is policy, it differs by route, and it changes. This page is the second question, one row per route, with the page each answer came from and the date we last read it.

Careful

Read the sources, not this table, on the day you submit. A rules page is stale the moment a store updates its terms, and the cost of being wrong here is a whole book produced against a policy that had already moved.

The routes, as of 24 September 2026

RouteTakes an AudioPod-narrated audiobook?DisclosureWho keeps the masterTerms notePrimary sourceLast checked
Direct to ACX (Audible)No. A direct ACX submission must be narrated by a human unless otherwise authorized, and unauthorized use of text-to-speech, AI or automated recordings is prohibited.Not applicable — the route does not take AI narration.Not applicable.The same page says Audible "is working to accept third-party TTS content", with no date attached. That is not acceptance, and it should not be planned around.help.acx.com — audio submission requirements (article last updated 15 April 2026)2026-09-24
Audible through a distributorUnconfirmed, so ask first. PublishDrive's store table marks Audible as not accepting AI narration other than audio made with Audible's own narration tool, and Author's Republic says AI-voice audiobooks are not permitted on every retail and library platform.Whatever the distributor asks for — each distributor's own row and guide name its field.You supply the finished files and the distributor sends them on; its distribution agreement sets the rights terms.Ask the distributor whether Audible will be one of the stores your title reaches before you narrate a whole book for it.help.publishdrive.com — AI-generated/assisted/narrated: what to declare, and how2026-09-24
Amazon KDP Virtual VoiceNo. Virtual Voice audiobooks are accepted on Amazon, but they are Amazon's own computer-generated narration, created from your eligible KDP ebook — not a way to sell an audiobook you narrated with AudioPod.Amazon labels it for you: its help page says virtual-voice audiobooks are clearly labeled.Amazon. Its terms say Amazon retains ownership of the virtual-voice edition file, while you keep the rights in your book.Free to create at this time. Sold wherever Audible audiobooks are available — Amazon, Audible, Alexa and Amazon Music Unlimited — with a 40% royalty on à la carte sales.kdp.amazon.com — learn more about audiobooks with virtual voice2026-09-24
Author's Republic (audiobook distributor)A test, not a confirmed route. Its AI Voice Audiobook Distribution article says it is testing distribution of AI-voice audiobooks, only for titles produced on other platforms, and Author's Republic reviews every title and may reject it — so ask before uploading.Author's Republic says it follows the Audio Publishers Association's AI narration naming guidelines to label AI-voice titles on distribution platforms.You supply the finished MP3s, and Author's Republic sends those files on to retailers. The distribution agreement you accept when you submit sets the rights terms, so read it first.AI-voice audiobooks are not permitted on every retail and library platform, the article does not say which ones take them, and each retailer applies its own acceptance criteria. Author's Republic says it does not use submitted audiobooks for AI voice production or model training.Author's Republic help centre — AI Voice Audiobook Distribution2026-09-24
Kobo Writing LifeYes. Kobo's help centre says Rakuten Kobo gladly accepts AI narration, and asks you to list the narrator contributor as a synthesised voice.List the narrator contributor as "Synthesised voice - male", "Synthesised voice - female" or "Synthesised voice - unspecified".You — you upload your own finished files.Kobo asks for at least two contributors on an audiobook: one author contributor and one narrator contributor.Kobo Writing Life help centre — AI Narration and Audiobooks2026-09-24
PublishDriveYes, store by store. PublishDrive says most of its store partners can accept books made with AI when it is properly declared, and its audiobook table lists which stores accept AI narration.Answer the mandatory AI declaration in the "Creators" section of the upload form, and add the narrating tool and voice to the contributor metadata. Some stores also want it in the description.You — you upload your own finished files.The table marks Audible as no: only AI narrations generated through Audible's own narration tool are accepted there. OverDrive asks for the description to begin with something like "This audiobook is narrated by AI."help.publishdrive.com — AI-generated/assisted/narrated: what to declare, and how2026-09-24
StreetLibNot stated, so ask first. StreetLib takes audiobooks you produce yourself, but neither of the pages we read addresses AI narration directly.Categorise any AI use with the metadata in the product sheet, and fill in the narrator field, which StreetLib makes mandatory.You — you upload your own finished files.StreetLib's content guidelines say it may block books created using AI or automated processes that are not correctly categorised in the product-sheet metadata.help.streetlib.com — StreetLib Content Integrity Guidelines2026-09-24
Spotify for AuthorsSpotify accepts audiobooks with digital voice narration from providers "like Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, and more". AudioPod is not named on that list, so ask Spotify for Authors support before uploading.Select "This audiobook uses digital voice narration" when you upload. Spotify then adds a short sentence to the description telling listeners.You — you upload your own finished files.Spotify does not currently share digitally narrated audiobooks with its referral partners, so the title stays on Spotify.support.spotify.com — Spotify for Authors: digital voice narration2026-09-24
Voices by INaudioNot today. INaudio takes AI-narrated audiobooks only as an unmodified LPF package generated by Google Play Books, ElevenLabs or Spoken Press. Audio from any other provider, or exported as standard audio files, cannot currently be accepted.Set by INaudio from the LPF package: the narrator credit cannot be edited, and a Digital Voice Narration disclosure is added to the description. An AI-narrated title must never be submitted as Human Narrated.Not stated in the source.An LPF package comes from the approved provider; an MP3 or a standard audiobook master cannot be converted into one. Titles misrepresented as Human Narrated may be rejected or removed.voicessupport.inaudio.com — Digital Voice Narration (DVN) FAQs2026-09-24
Apple BooksNot directly. Apple Books digital narration is Apple's own programme: it produces the audiobook from your ebook and is delivered through Apple's preferred partners. PublishDrive's table lists Apple Books as accepting AI-narrated audiobooks sent through PublishDrive.Through PublishDrive: the narrating tool and voice in the contributor metadata and in the description.You — you upload your own finished files.Apple's own digital narration is free, leaves the audiobook rights with the publisher or author, and places no restriction on other versions — but it narrates your ebook; it does not take your file.authors.apple.com — digital narration for audiobooks2026-09-24
Google Play BooksNot through auto-narration, which narrates your EPUB with Google's own voices. PublishDrive's table lists Google Play as accepting AI-narrated audiobooks sent through PublishDrive.Through PublishDrive: the narrating tool and voice in the contributor metadata.You — you upload your own finished files.Auto-narration needs an EPUB in English, Spanish, French, German, Hindi or Brazilian Portuguese that is also on sale as an ebook on Google Play. Whether Google Play takes an AI-narrated file uploaded directly is not stated on the page we read.play.google.com — auto-narrated audiobooks2026-09-24

One row per route. “Not stated” means the source is silent — not that the answer is no.

Step by step, store by store

  • How to publish an AI-narrated audiobook on Author's RepublicAuthor's Republic is testing distribution of AI-voice audiobooks made elsewhere. How it labels them, what it will not promise, and why you ask before uploading.
  • How to publish an AI-narrated audiobook on KoboKobo Writing Life accepts AI-narrated audiobooks. The exact narrator contributor wording it asks for, and the two contributors Kobo wants on every audiobook.
  • How to publish an AI-narrated audiobook on StreetLibStreetLib takes audiobooks you produce yourself, but its pages say nothing direct about AI narration. What its guidelines say about AI, and why you ask first.
  • How to publish an AI-narrated audiobook on PublishDrivePublishDrive distributes AI-narrated audiobooks to most of its stores when the AI use is declared. Where the declaration goes, and the stores that say no.
  • How to publish an AI-narrated audiobook on Voices by INaudioVoices by INaudio only takes AI narration as an LPF package from its approved providers, and AudioPod is not one. What that means, and where to go instead.
  • How to publish an AI-narrated audiobook on SpotifySpotify for Authors accepts digitally narrated audiobooks from the providers it lists. The disclosure option to tick, and why you ask before uploading.
  • How to publish an AI-narrated audiobook on Apple BooksApple Books digital narration is Apple's own programme and does not take your file. How an audiobook narrated elsewhere reaches Apple Books instead.
  • How to publish an AI-narrated audiobook on Google Play BooksGoogle Play's auto-narration reads your EPUB with Google's own voices. How an audiobook you narrated elsewhere reaches Google Play Books instead.
  • How to publish an AI-narrated audiobook on AudibleWhy a direct ACX upload is closed to AI narration, why KDP Virtual Voice leaves the master with Amazon, and what to ask a distributor about Audible.

The Audible answer, in full

Audible sells AI-narrated audiobooks, but not through a direct ACX submission. Those are two different sentences and collapsing them is the single most expensive mistake in this corner of publishing — in both directions. “ACX rejects AI” read as “Audible is closed” writes off the Audible store without asking; “Audible sells AI narration” read as “ACX will take my file” produces a whole book against a policy that says the opposite.

  • Direct to ACX (Audible): No. A direct ACX submission must be narrated by a human unless otherwise authorized, and unauthorized use of text-to-speech, AI or automated recordings is prohibited.
  • Audible through a distributor: Unconfirmed, so ask first. PublishDrive's store table marks Audible as not accepting AI narration other than audio made with Audible's own narration tool, and Author's Republic says AI-voice audiobooks are not permitted on every retail and library platform.
  • Amazon KDP Virtual Voice: No. Virtual Voice audiobooks are accepted on Amazon, but they are Amazon's own computer-generated narration, created from your eligible KDP ebook — not a way to sell an audiobook you narrated with AudioPod.

Note

Author's Republic is the distributor our export flow points to. A test, not a confirmed route. Its AI Voice Audiobook Distribution article says it is testing distribution of AI-voice audiobooks, only for titles produced on other platforms, and Author's Republic reviews every title and may reject it — so ask before uploading. AI-voice audiobooks are not permitted on every retail and library platform, the article does not say which ones take them, and each retailer applies its own acceptance criteria. Author's Republic says it does not use submitted audiobooks for AI voice production or model training. That hedge stays until somebody has written confirmation, and no guide should tidy it into a plain yes.

Who keeps the master

The column authors skip is the one that decides what they can do in two years. A route where you keep the master files leaves the book portable: change your mind about a store, and the audiobook comes with you. A route where the store keeps it does not. The studio's export produces a package that meets ACX audio-file specifications and carries AI-narration disclosure metadata; what a store then holds, and on what terms, is the store's term and not ours.

Disclosure is not the risk you think it is

Every route above that takes AI narration asks for it to be disclosed, and no two ask in the same place — the matrix names each field, and some routes set the label for you. Where a row says "not stated", check the platform's page before you upload. Records in the package that the narration was synthesized. On by default, and worth leaving on: retailers increasingly ask.

Tip

The failure mode for hiding it is not a refused submission — it is a published title pulled later, which costs far more than picking the right store in the first place.

How to verify this yourself

Every row above is one page away from being re-checked. These are the pages the answers came from, and the routes each one answers for.

Source pageWhat it answersLast read
help.acx.com — audio submission requirements (article last updated 15 April 2026)Direct to ACX (Audible)2026-09-24
help.publishdrive.com — AI-generated/assisted/narrated: what to declare, and howAudible through a distributor · PublishDrive · Apple Books · Google Play Books2026-09-24
Author's Republic help centre — AI Voice Audiobook DistributionAudible through a distributor · Author's Republic (audiobook distributor)2026-09-24
authorsrepublic.com — FAQsAudible through a distributor · Author's Republic (audiobook distributor)2026-09-24
kdp.amazon.com — learn more about audiobooks with virtual voiceAmazon KDP Virtual Voice2026-09-24
kdp.amazon.com — terms for audiobooks with virtual voiceAmazon KDP Virtual Voice2026-09-24
kdp.amazon.com — audiobooks with virtual voice (beta)Amazon KDP Virtual Voice2026-09-24
Author's Republic help centre — Distribution > Agreement TabAuthor's Republic (audiobook distributor)2026-09-24
Kobo Writing Life help centre — AI Narration and AudiobooksKobo Writing Life2026-09-24
help.streetlib.com — StreetLib Content Integrity GuidelinesStreetLib2026-09-24
help.streetlib.com — audiobooks specificationsStreetLib2026-09-24
support.spotify.com — Spotify for Authors: digital voice narrationSpotify for Authors2026-09-24
voicessupport.inaudio.com — Digital Voice Narration (DVN) FAQsVoices by INaudio2026-09-24
authors.apple.com — digital narration for audiobooksApple Books2026-09-24
play.google.com — auto-narrated audiobooksGoogle Play Books2026-09-24

The pages each claim above came from.

Changelog

DateWhat was checked
2026-09-24Every row re-read against its source and moved into one data file that also drives the per-store guides. Kobo, Apple Books, StreetLib and PublishDrive added with sourced answers. Voices by INaudio corrected to its approved-provider rule. Spotify's disclosure option and provider list updated to its current page. Author's Republic's AI Voice Audiobook Distribution article added, with the ask-first hedge kept; its row now calls the route the test Author's Republic says it is, and its master cell says only what its pages state. Audible through a distributor marked unconfirmed after PublishDrive's table marked Audible as no.
2026-09-20First published. Routes compiled from the ACX audio submission requirements (read 2026-09-17), our position on the three Audible routes (2026-09-17), and the platform notes for Spotify for Authors, Voices by INaudio, Google Play and KDP Virtual Voice (2026-09-18). Apple Books and Kobo were deliberately left unverified rather than filled in.

What changed on this page, and what was checked when.

Next steps

  • ACX Audiobook CheckerMeasure peak, RMS and noise floor in the browser against the ACX audio spec. It answers the file question — the route question is the one above.
  • Audiobook Length CalculatorTurn a word count into finished hours, and finished hours into what narration costs.

If you are already on a plan, narration comes out of your monthly credits. If you are not, it is $19 per finished hour, prepaid, quoted from your parsed manuscript before anything is narrated.

Questions

What people ask about this

Previous lessonWill a retailer accept it?

All Audiobook Studio lessons

Make something worth hearing.

Start creating free

Create

  • Music
  • Text to speech
  • Audiobooks
  • Podcasts
  • Voice changer
  • Audio reader
  • Narration

Edit & convert

  • Stem splitter
  • Separate speakers
  • Noise reduction
  • Speech to text
  • Media converter
  • Browser DAW
  • All features

Developers

  • Developer hub
  • API reference
  • Quickstart
  • Python SDK
  • MCP server
  • Changelog
  • API status

Resources

  • Guides
  • Languages
  • Use cases
  • Alternatives
  • Tool comparisons
  • AI audio guide
  • Glossary
  • Showcase

Free tools

  • Audio Format Converter
  • Video to Audio Extractor
  • Voice Recorder
  • Free Stem Splitter
  • Free Vocal Remover
  • All free tools

Company

  • About
  • Manifesto
  • Careers
  • Blog
  • Customers
  • Affiliate program
  • Contact

Studio

  • Studio overview

Edit & process

  • YouTube to Podcast

Voices

  • Voice library
  • Iconic voices
  • Music Radio

Free tools

  • Audio Trimmer
  • ACX Checker
  • WAV to MP3 Converter
  • MP4 to MP3 Converter

Solutions

  • Audiobook authors
  • Podcasters
  • Musicians & creators
  • Education
  • Voice agents
  • Gaming
  • Accessibility
  • Advertising
  • Enterprise

Compare

  • vs ElevenLabs
  • vs Suno
  • vs Descript
  • vs Murf
  • vs NotebookLM
  • vs LALAL.AI
  • vs NarrationBox

Resources

  • Music Studio guides
  • Audiobook guides
  • Speaker Separation guides
  • Stem Splitter guides
  • Voice Studio guides
  • Noise Reduction guides
  • Transcription guides
  • Voice Changer guides
  • Launches
  • Family voice (mobile)
  • AudioPod mobile
  • Pricing
  • For AI agents
  • AudioPod for Startups

Company & legal

  • Press & media
  • Responsible AI
  • Voice consent
  • Trust & security
  • Security disclosures
  • Security policy
  • Privacy
  • Cookie policy
  • Terms
AudioPod AI

© 2026 AudioPod AI, Inc. All rights reserved.

Privacy|Terms|Trust Center|Responsible AI|Voice consent|